I thought its called gasification not a SMOKIFICATION

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

infinitymike

Minister of Fire
Aug 23, 2011
Long Island, NY
Listen I know I'm new at this and I know my unit probably could have been piped better and I know my wood isn't seasoned but
REALLY....I MEAN REALLY.
1002984.jpg

By infinitymike at 2011-12-13

That was at 5 am this morning after I came out and saw that I had a full bed of red hot coals. probably 4-6 inches thick. There where 2 charred splits on the left and right sides of the box.
I filled it up and this is what happened.

This pic is from 5:30am and the next pick is from 7:15am
And the last one is what the firebox looked like at 7:15am.

1002983.jpg

1002987g.jpg

1002985q.jpg

I am burning mostly maple and some cherry. Both were split in early September BUT ....BUT ...WAIT I re-split a bunch over the last week and they all read 20-22% moisture. Yes they are heavy and still have bark but really..is this the only reason why? The picture really doesn't do any justice to the amount of smoke billowing out of this thing. Saturday was even worse. The smoke was blowing over the front of the roof and filled up the street it was un- freakin -believable.

The guys at AHS said i need to put a couple pieces of wood let it get good and hot, an hour later add some more and then an hour lateradd some more. I don't have time do sit around a stoke this thing all stinkin morning.

And how much hotter does a 4 inch bed of coals have to get anyway?