Id free wood?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

SPED

Dec 31, 2007
Picked this up yesterday, not a ton of it, but I figure it only cost me about 10 bucks in gas to get. It's real dry the people said it had been dead a while before it fell. It's about 26%. Anyone know what it is?

Attachments

• fw001.jpg
    fw001.jpg
    231 KB · Views: 683
The stuff was really light to pick up too.... I'm figuring it's prob not all that good of a score, but I'm new at this scrounging game, and once I was out there....better to come home with bad wood then no wood.

Maple of some variety.. Makes great kindling. I've burned some larger pieces as well and they do fine, just a big quick burning and not a whole lot of coals.

Jason

Looks like maple to me, too.
Better than pine.

Nice mix of red and white oak leaves .

Cool, maple is better than I was hoping for, thanks guys. Yeah, as you can tell, my oaks never wanna give up their leaves. I waited all the way into december to rake, and then we get 50 mph winds a few days later, followed by snow, spring cleanup here I come ;-)

I'd say it's definitely maple. Not sure which species without looking at leaves or the shape. Should give out some good heat.

I think it looks like young oak. Is that big log in the truck from the same tree?

That looks like a younger red oak as it is beginning to get some furrows in that bark...

You didnt give it a whiff?

CTwoodnpelletburner said:
I think it looks like young oak. Is that big log in the truck from the same tree?