Ideal split thickness in catalytic/hybrid stove.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

JA600L

Minister of Fire
Nov 30, 2013
Lancaster Pennsylvania
Hi guys,
We are going through a bit of a cold windy spell here. I am looking to get the most heat possible for overnight/ 11 hour work day burns.

I am still fairly new to operating a catalytic/hybrid stove and have been cruising trouble free. With this added cold I just want to ensure I'm using the best of my best firewood.

The fuel in question is large white oak chunks taken out of my 3 year old stack. I know in my older stove chunks did very well, but with a cat I'm just not sure if it will off gas as well as say more medium sized splits. I know I will have a lot more left over coals with the chunks.

Any thoughts? I have plenty of large, medium, and small sized variety to chose from. Either way it will burn all night I'm just looking for the most heat possible.

Hi guys,
We are going through a bit of a cold windy spell here. I am looking to get the most heat possible for overnight/ 11 hour work day burns.

I am still fairly new to operating a catalytic/hybrid stove and have been cruising trouble free. With this added cold I just want to ensure I'm using the best of my best firewood.

The fuel in question is large white oak chunks taken out of my 3 year old stack. I know in my older stove chunks did very well, but with a cat I'm just not sure if it will off gas as well as say more medium sized splits. I know I will have a lot more left over coals with the chunks.