1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Igniter for harman accentra insert

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by russr, Aug 25, 2012.

  1. russr

    russr Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Loc:
    freetown ma
    Where is the best place to get a replacement ignitor for my Accentra insert? Online or dealer?

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. tsmith

    tsmith Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    766
    Loc:
    Kutztown, PA
    I've always purchased mine from dealers, they were around $45 for my Quad AE. I haven't bought any yet for my Accentra, this is my first year with it. Can't think they are much more than the Quads.
  3. Lousyweather

    Lousyweather Guest

    some folts buy non-Harman igniters online, I think you can search here for that- but from a dealer, the igniter should be $100-$110 or so.....
  4. tsmith

    tsmith Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    766
    Loc:
    Kutztown, PA
    Well I guess the Harman ignitors cost a little more than the Quads. I think the Quad's burn out a lot faster though with all theshut downs during auto clean cycles. So it most likely equals out in the end.
  5. Lousyweather

    Lousyweather Guest

    the newer series of harman igniters have been pretty good (15 fin igniters).....havent replaced any......YET. They did have their issues a few years ago though (13 fin igniters)!
  6. AbetterChimneynm

    AbetterChimneynm Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Messages:
    173
    Loc:
    SIlver City, New Mexico
    I would buy from a dealer, Incase you get one that goes out within 90 days you can take it back to the dealer and get it replaced (We have replaced a few for our customers in the past)
  7. MountainSean

    MountainSean Credo Quia Absurdum

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    299
    Loc:
    NW Montana
    Some aftermarket igniters have warranties beyond 90 day OEM.
  8. smwilliamson

    smwilliamson Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    4,008
    Loc:
    Southcoast, MA
  9. AbetterChimneynm

    AbetterChimneynm Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Messages:
    173
    Loc:
    SIlver City, New Mexico
    That is not a bad price, 99 is what we sell the 15 fins here for thou :(
  10. Lousyweather

    Lousyweather Guest

    AND its a harman ignitor, right?
  11. AbetterChimneynm

    AbetterChimneynm Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Messages:
    173
    Loc:
    SIlver City, New Mexico
    Yes that would be a harman ignitor
  12. FreezingInRI

    FreezingInRI New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Loc:
    Southeast RI
    I am a newbie, but game to try....how hard is it to change an Accentra Insert? Can you give me detailed instructions? :p
  13. smwilliamson

    smwilliamson Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    4,008
    Loc:
    Southcoast, MA
    1. Locate the 2 5/16 hex screws in the front of the burn pot and take them out. Ignitor carriage should fall down.
    2. Unplug unit from power
    3. unclip unit and pull out
    4. Located the yellow and light blue wires coming from bottom of feed assembly (right under the auger)
    5. Pull the plastic cap off
    6. cut the zip tie that is holding the wire harness with the extra lengths of yellow and blue wires
    7. open the front door and grab the ignitor carriage and pull it out far enough to get to the wire disconnects
    8. detach ignitor wires from lt blue and yellow leads
    9. Turn the tabs on the top of the ignitor plat and remove plate
    10. ignitor should come out CAUTION. THE NEW IGNITOR GOES IN THE SAME WAY THE OLD ONE CAME OUT...DO IT RIGHT AWAY SO YOU HAVE A VISUAL. YOU COULD BE STUMPED FOR HOURS IF YOU PUT THE IGNITOR IN BACKWARDS
    11. Reassemble in the reverse order.
  14. FreezingInRI

    FreezingInRI New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Loc:
    Southeast RI
    Thanks, so far so good, except I can't get the old ingiter out of the housing. There are two tabs that seem to hold the plate in that I can't turn so it properly comes off. any suggestions...and it also seems I bought a 13 fin, rather than 15...should I send it back?
  15. Rick5472

    Rick5472 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    71
    Loc:
    Columbia, MD
    I used a pair of needle nosed pliers to get the tabs twisted so I could get the plate off from the igniter I replaced on my Advance. Be sure to assemble it the same way as you found it (as someone mentioned). I marked mine with a marker so I couldn't mess it up. See some pictures of the different igniter types here:
    http://www.hearth.com/talk/threads/harman-advance-igniter.81181/
  16. Heaterhunter

    Heaterhunter Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Loc:
    Maine
    Have you tested your ignitor? You may not need a new one. I have an accentera I bought used and the guy I bought it from told me that the ignitor wasn't working. I replaced the ignitor when i purchased it and recently I've tested the one I took out and it's fine. The accentra ignitor seems to be very finicky. If your burnpot holes are dirty and partially clogged sometimes it won't auto ignite. Also if too much ash has made it through the holes in the burnpot while operating the stove the ash tends to gather on and around the ignitor which will inhibit ignition. Clean under the burnpot well behind the access cover and use a 6 penny ring nail or a drill bit to clean all the holes in the burn pot.
    Lousyweather likes this.

Share This Page