Im a wood burning rookie, and i know it..

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Speakeasy2009

Nov 5, 2014
CT
Hi everyone,

As a new home owner getting ***** by the oil man and having to rely on him to keep warm, I really want a wood burning solution.

Yes, I know it’s a ton of work, and I have to buy wood too if I can find enough… fine I get that. But I’m the type who wants to be as self-sufficient as possible. Storms that knock out power are common and in the cold I hate not knowing I can’t keep my kids warm without electricity or oil. What if I lose my job, how will I buy oil???? These are the things I want to prevent myself from having to worry about. Most people say I’m a dooms-dayer or crazy prepper but that’s not the case. I just want to be prepared for stuff, I mean ya never know. When I talk to people in general about it, it’s as if they forgot about all the complaining they did after hurricane Sandy that left them cold and without power for 3 damn weeks.

I’ve been reading and doing a lot of research but I don’t understand it all. I’m just so confused because there is so much info.

My house – 1000sqft

Current heat – oil burner with forced air. Each room has a heat and a return duct.

Basement – same size as the upper floor.

My goal is to heat my basement to make it livable and the upstairs. I want to use a small wood burning furnace, like the Englander model 28-350. It will do the basement and the upstairs. I only have a ground level floor, no second floor.