Im thinking about buying a Pellet stove please help!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

mdellemonache

Jan 24, 2011
MA
Hi Everyone.

For 20 years i have been using a wood stove and its getting old! I have been thinking about getting a pellet stove. I want one that looks like a wood stove (cast). I was looking at the Enviro m55 cast insert and free standing. Are these good stoves? Are there any better stoves than these? I am totally new to Pellets and i am not 100% sure if i want to get one. Can anyone please give me some input on this? Also What is the cost of a M55 cast insert stove?

Can I install this myself?

Thanks for all your input!

Mo

Welcome to the forum.

I can't answer your question on the cost of the M55 cast, but it's getting good reviews so far.

Other stoves that have a similar "look" as the M55 are the Lopi Leyden, Avalon Arbor, Harman XXV, St. Croix Hastings, and Quadrafire Castille and Mt. Vernon.

And yes, they can be self-installed. Do a lot of reading here to familiarize yourself with that aspect.

I know for me I absolutely love my pellet stove. Very easy maintenance and if you do the regular maintenance they just run and run. I think the worse part of the cost is in the exhaust pipe depending on how long your run is.