Impressed

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Vic99

Minister of Fire
Dec 13, 2006
MA, Suburb of Lowell
So I've been using a electric chainsaw (Remmington 4 hp, 18" bar) for over a year. I just made the switch to the Stihl 290 with a 16" bar. What a difference! I knew it would be better, but not this good. Plus, whenever I have a problem, I refer to the manual. The manual is spot on with its solutions. (How to deal with a flooded engine, effectiveness of sharpening the chain, etc.)

I'm still learning how to use this thing properly. Most of what I cut is less than 20". I find that tinkering and learning about the saw still consumes a lot of time (maybe because I have a respect for it) Any advice for a beginner to gas power?

Start slow and for the most part the trees will lean the way they will go. Also have a few wedges and either an ax or a small sledge to hit them in with. This goes above the whole protective equipment you always need.
Chad

Stihl has a good one hour video on selecting, using, maintaining a saw. It is $5 + shipping. I am told they also have it available on their website to download for free.

Baileys has several good books.

Chainsaw Manual training book by APA, mid 80's, is great on falling and hinging techniques, although some of it is geared to softwood logging that is now mechanized.

k