In this video, did they install an OAK?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

BKSinAZ

Jan 26, 2015
PineTop Arizona.
Noob here and attempting to learn. I would not know what an OAK looks like if it hit me over the head. About to purchase the Enviro M55 cast and now attempting to learn installation techniques. I will have a professional do the installation, but I want to learn so I know the installer is doing a good job. I will more than likely buy an OAK because of all the chatter on this site about the kit and how it effects air quality inside the home.

Last edited:
Noob here and attempting to learn. I would not know what an OAK looks like if it hit me over the head. About to purchase the Enviro M55 cast and now attempting to learn installation techniques. I will have a professional do the installation, but I want to learn so I know the installer is doing a good job. I will more than likely buy an OAK because of all the chatter on this site about the kit and how it effects air quality inside the home.

Yes they did.
The OAK[Outside air kit] was the long Silver tube towards the end of the video.
Brings in Outside air to help with combustion etc.

OAK inlet on the back of the stove is to the left and lower - the 2" pipe. The small screen installed at the end that is attached to the aluminum flex pipe is the OAK. I prefer my kit as it has a small hood along with a screen on the inlet - minimizes potential wind or moisture problems.

Exhaust venting is usually around 3" - the right pipe on the back of the stove. Rigid, double walled pipe specially designed for pellet.