1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

increasing flue size in basement

Post in 'The Boiler Room - Wood Boilers and Furnaces' started by nrcrash, Jun 17, 2012.

  1. nrcrash

    nrcrash Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    155
    Loc:
    MA
    I have begun installing my new vigas 40 in my basement. Ran into a small problem and I'm hoping someone can point me in the right direction. I am going to disconnect my oil boil in vent the vigas into my chimney, however the clay lining where the boiler connects is only 7" (the flue going up the chimney is a 12"X12"). The vigas needs to have a 8" vent. How would I go about increasing this portion of the chimney. Just breaking out the liner and cutting the brick out to accept a 8"?

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. JP11

    JP11 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,099
    Loc:
    Central Maine
    I had mine core drilled. It went right out to the edges of the lining. The 40 needs an 8" too? I would have guessed smaller than my 60
  3. maple1

    maple1 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    3,662
    Loc:
    Nova Scotia
    I would first ask the manufacturer or a dealer if it would be OK to reduce from 8 to 7 at the outlet. Might depend on other things too like how high your chimney is.
  4. nrcrash

    nrcrash Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    155
    Loc:
    MA
    Just got a phone call from my Vigas dealer, 8:30pm on a Sunday! You don't get much better service than that! Good new is that I can reduce it to a 7".

    Thanks for the help.

    I'm sure I'll be back....
  5. JP11

    JP11 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,099
    Loc:
    Central Maine
    Not surprised at all that you got a call. I'm loving mine. I just wish my wood was drier. I've had good results on +2 on the controller with my wood in the high 20s low 30s. It's all I got for now. 13 or 14 cords of this year wood. 3 cords of red oak for the future years.

    Should get better by fall.

    You'll learn a lot in your first few weeks of burning. You wife will give you hell for checking it all the time.. but you'll learn a lot.

    JP
  6. nrcrash

    nrcrash Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    155
    Loc:
    MA
    How long have you been seasoning your wood? What are you burning?

    I started in January but its oak so don't think i'll be dry by this winter, and now i'm searching for standing dead trees that will give me a head start.

    And my wife gives me hell for everything
    woodsmaster likes this.
  7. JP11

    JP11 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,099
    Loc:
    Central Maine
    Mine was cut in Jan.. I had some dead.. A lot of Irene lopped over hemlock. I'm having WAY better results cranking up the output on the controller. I'm not actually getting the 220 to 250k BTU that the +2 or +3 setting is.. but I'm getting low 200s.. and good flue temps.

    I keep the oak completely separate gonna be 2 summers before I touch that. Mostly cutting ash and oak now.

    JP
  8. Eric Johnson

    Eric Johnson Mod Emeritus

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    5,705
    Loc:
    Central NYS
    Seven and eight-inch outlets tend to be interchangeable, but as noted, check with the manufacturer to be sure.

Share This Page