"Inherited" Vemont Castings Resolute Acclaim, need help using it.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

IPTAK

Dec 13, 2010
Alaska
Hey, I'm new here, but I have been surfing around trying to learn before I posted. I bought a house and it has this stove in it but I am sure I am not suing it properly. A friend saw the instal and said it looked really nice, custom apparently (the vent stack). Anyway, I am a total newbie to using a wood stove and I am trying to understand the basics. I downloaded the owners manual but am still left with many questions. The stack/vent pipe has a thermometer in it, but from what I gather I should get another one to put on the griddle to help me decide how to run it. The main thing about the manual that left me wanting confirmation was about closing the damper. Is that not how the smoke gets out? I understand (now) you can get a second burn, but if I am reading the manual correct it says to close the damper (http://www.stovesandspas.com/pdf/resoluteacclaim.pdf) totally (I think once the griddle is over 400 degrees F. WHat happens as that falls though?).

I can get a good fire going if I pack the stove. The heat it throws off is good for a while, but I have to frequently replenish the wood. I read about people getting heat for 6 hrs or more and I am no where near that. I am sure I am burning thru the wood too fast, but it seems to need that to keep the heat up. I fully attribute that to user error.