insert and liner questions

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

flyfisher

Sep 11, 2006
Hi Everyone,

confused newbie here!

I have read all of the old posts on this subject but I'm still a bit confused. I currently have a Temtex (CFM) fireplace with a pre-fab chimney. The opening of the damper is 9" and the chimney is inside the house, top floor in the corner. I am looking at purchasing a Lopi model LX insert with an 8" exhaust. I had a fireplace tech come out and look at what I had when I moved in last year and he told me I could line the chimney with a liner if I ended up buying an insert. Before I get a permit, I want to find out needs to be done. My questions are as follows:

1. should the damper be removed (per an old post)? It seems it would make it much easier to reline the chimney with rigid pipe that way
2. if the damper is removed, should a connector pipe be used to connect the insert to the liner, or connect the liner directly to the stove?
3. if the damper is not removed, should a connector pipe be used to connect the insert to the damper, then the insert from there on up?
4. does the liner need to be insulated? I only have a 9" damper opening, I'm not sure about the diameter past that since I have not yet measured. With an 8" pipe, that might be a very snug fit.

I'm sure I have more questions I'm not thinking about right now, but thanks in advance for your replies

Hmm...here's my story...