1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Insert in a heatilator fireplace???????????

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by Greg Ray, Oct 30, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Greg Ray

    Greg Ray Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    66
    Loc:
    TX
    Ok may be a stupid question but here it goes. I just bought a 1 year old home with a 42" wide heatilator fireplace. Can you put an insert in these fireplaces? If so what brand would fit. I already miss my wood stove, the fireplace looks very nice, but everyone knows its not going to put out much heat. Thanks for the ideas and help.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. petejung

    petejung New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Messages:
    212
    Is that one of those direct vent gas fireplaces similar to a heat=n=glo? I had one of those, and wanted to do just what you want to do... Was told you'll need a zero clearance box to go in where your gas unit was, then you can put in an insert. Not sure on sizes or dimensions...

    I ended up covering up my hole where the gas fireplace was and put in a free-standing pellet stove. Saved me about $2000 going that route.
  3. Jabberwocky

    Jabberwocky New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    148
    Loc:
    Central Massachusetts
    Look at my avatar. Is this what you have? I had no problems jamming in the Quadrafire MT Vernon AE pellet stove.
  4. Todd

    Todd Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    9,226
    Loc:
    Lake Wissota
    If it's woodburning yes. There are inserts out there such as Lopi and Quadrafire and others. The insert manual should say wether or not it can be installed into your type of fireplace.
  5. Greg Ray

    Greg Ray Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    66
    Loc:
    TX
    Yes, Its a wood burner with a 8" pipe. Its been used maybe a couple of times. Thanks for the help. I guess Im off to the local insert shop to check prices. :)
  6. Shipper50

    Shipper50 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    604
    Loc:
    Indiana
    I bought a log home with a heatilator fireplace and wanted more heat output so I bought a Appalachian insert and was very disapointed in the heat I got. I am looking at free standing stoves as I write this today.

    Shipper
  7. karl

    karl Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    1,057
    Loc:
    Huntington, West Virginia
    The PE Summit is zero clearance certified too.
  8. webbie

    webbie Seasoned Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    12,252
    Loc:
    Western Mass.
    Shipper, you cannot use the vast majority of freestanding stoves in a zero clearance fireplace.....exception would be if you have an actual masonry fireplace with a metal "heatform" and not an actual zero-clearance.
  9. jtp10181

    jtp10181 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,724
    Loc:
    Madison, WI
    Yes you can, we do it every week. Many brands would fit. What model do you have? Is it an A42C? I could look up and tell you exactly what Quadrafire models would work for you, based off the Heatilator model.
  10. Greg Ray

    Greg Ray Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    66
    Loc:
    TX
    Im not sure it was put in new in 06 and its got a 42" opening. Can you tell me where I can find the model #. Thanks Greg
  11. jtp10181

    jtp10181 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,724
    Loc:
    Madison, WI
    There would be silver rating plate rivited on the smoke baffle or behind the screens on the left or right sides if its a Heatilator prefab metal box fireplace.
  12. Hogwildz

    Hogwildz Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    6,679
    Loc:
    Next to nuke plant Berwick, PA.
    Whats to be disappointed about? Did you get a blower with/for it?
    Putting an insert in without a blower is like running a hot air furnace without a fan.
  13. Shipper50

    Shipper50 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    604
    Loc:
    Indiana
    Yes I got the blower with it and that was after calling the dealer who took it out when the insert was a floor model. My main thing is the Appalachian is rated for 2500 sf and my house is no where near that and it doesnt heat the house other than where the insert is. And yes I burn good wood.

    Shipper
  14. kd460

    kd460 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Messages:
    394
    Sounds like the same model prefab I have. If it is, then your choices are limited. The 2 or 3 models of inserts that I preferred did not fit simply because of the location of the flu pipe and or the size of the prefab firebox. You really need to pay close attention to that and it will reduce your selection considerably.

    While I "settled" for this particuliar insert (see sig), it still kicks out the heat. What I lost was asthetics. What I gained was a larger firebox and a flu pipe that lined right up, and a flu collar that made install easy.

    Any descent sized insert would not give you enough clearance to make the connection to the flu pipe (as well as line up with current fireplace chimney pipe). So if you can find a model that allows you to make the flu collar conection from the inside of the inserts firebox, than all the better.

    I spent considerable time researching to find one that would fit. Maybe newer model are available now with more inserts to choose from. You need to measure the inside dimensions of your prefab, including the center location of your prefab chimney, then study the dimensions of the insert you are considering. Besides normal size dimensions, you need to study the center location of the flu collar on the insert. Compare that with your prefab dimensions and flu location to see if it will work.

    Good luck, I hope you have greater success in finding "many models" than I did. KD
  15. Greg Ray

    Greg Ray Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    66
    Loc:
    TX
    Talked to the Quadrafire dealer today and they said I could put the 27 i or the 31i insert into my heatilator fireplace. Anyone have one of these inserts? Any problems with them? I liked my Quadrafire wood stove, had a good dealer so I guess I'll go back with one of their inserts. Thanks for all the help. Greg
  16. rdrcr56

    rdrcr56 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    216
    We had a Heatalator fireplace with a framed in wood box next to it, I tore the whole thing out and made an alcove. I had to do a little framing and drywall but the stove sits back with the front about even with the wall, so it doesn't stick out into the room too much.
  17. mfwinch

    mfwinch New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Loc:
    Northern VT
    I've got a Heatilator GR4 and am also trying to figure out if I can fit in a Quadra-Fire insert. Based on the specs in the Quadra-Fire manuals, it looks like I could maybe get a 2700i or (less likely) a 3100i. Do any of the Heatilator experts out there know if any of these Quads will fit?

    Thanks for any insight.
  18. velvetfoot

    velvetfoot Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,315
    Loc:
    Sand Lake, NY
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page