Insert Recommendations

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

RielTime

Oct 15, 2006
NorthWest, NJ
Another newbie here, I just bought a house that has electric radiant heat in the ceiling and needless to say I need to supplement the heat. I have approximately 1800 square feet with most of it on the second floor. There is a masonry fireplace located in the den downstairs. The den is 18.5' X 12' with the fireplace located at the end of the 18.5' wall. There is a 5' X 7' opening on the other end of the room which opens to the stairs going to the second floor.

I want to place a wood burning insert in the fireplace. My questions is, what size stove should I use? We use the den and my concern is that it could get unbearably hot in that room. I have read a lot on this forum and have been to all the neighboring stove dealers and my wife and I have narrowed down our choices to the Hampton HI300 and the Pacific Energy mid size Pacific Insert. They are both similar in heat production.

There is an approximate $600 difference between the two but the wife prefers the looks on the Hampton. Also after listening the the fans in both units, the Hampton was noticeably quieter which is another reason the wife is leaning toward the Hampton. Would either of these units be too much heat for my room?

Thanks

Hi RielTime,