Installing 24 volt WiFi Thermostat on millivolt stoves

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by smwilliamson, Sep 19, 2013.

  1. Don2222

    Don2222
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    7,718
    Likes Received:
    446
    Loc:
    Salem NH
    HaHa
    The AC adapter plugs into the interface module not the T-Stat. You may want to see the instructions.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. smwilliamson

    smwilliamson
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    4,411
    Likes Received:
    747
    Loc:
    Southcoast, MA
    If you need a tstat to tell you the pipes are freezing In the other room you need a lot more than a glitzy tstat.

    Hat Honeywell has a lot of features too you know.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  3. smwilliamson

    smwilliamson
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    4,411
    Likes Received:
    747
    Loc:
    Southcoast, MA
    I'm sure it's everything we all want and more. The thing I made can power two of you things fYI
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  4. hyfire

    hyfire
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    633
    Likes Received:
    76
    Loc:
    Ont, Canada
    I don;t understand why we need the relay, I have a wifi T stat and it works with out the relay. C goes to the transfomer, other side of transformer goes to RH and jumpers to the stove and W goes to the other side of the stove. I tested it an it works, as this is how my t stat instructions said to hook it up for a millivolt device.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
    SmokeyTheBear and jtakeman like this.
  5. jtakeman

    jtakeman
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    13,496
    Likes Received:
    1,571
    Loc:
    Northwestern CT.
    Which stat are you using?

    @Don2222 and @smwilliamson

    These 2 knuckle heads will bicker over whether rice crispies pop crackle snap or snap crackle pop! Me thinx they need a time out!
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  6. smwilliamson

    smwilliamson
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    4,411
    Likes Received:
    747
    Loc:
    Southcoast, MA
    Your tstat must be battery powered and millivolt compatible, most are not
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  7. hyfire

    hyfire
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    633
    Likes Received:
    76
    Loc:
    Ont, Canada
    current innovations CI800, which is the same as the 3M50 stlye unit.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  8. smwilliamson

    smwilliamson
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    4,411
    Likes Received:
    747
    Loc:
    Southcoast, MA
    Show us your wiring schematic. What's your stove?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  9. smwilliamson

    smwilliamson
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    4,411
    Likes Received:
    747
    Loc:
    Southcoast, MA
    Do you have a jumper on the tstat from wh to c?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  10. jtakeman

    jtakeman
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    13,496
    Likes Received:
    1,571
    Loc:
    Northwestern CT.
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  11. #36 Don2222, Sep 22, 2013
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2013
    Don2222

    Don2222
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    7,718
    Likes Received:
    446
    Loc:
    Salem NH
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  12. TheMightyMoe

    TheMightyMoe
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    138
    Loc:
    Fairbanks, Alaska.
    Wish there was a decent thermostat setup that let the Harman keep modulating its intended way and not just go into 4 blink.

    Maybe you just need a disclaimer in your signature about someone posting in your threads, the thread would be quite clean then...
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  13. hyfire

    hyfire
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    633
    Likes Received:
    76
    Loc:
    Ont, Canada
    The stove is a eco-65 I'm on the laptop, I cant draw a pic right now
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  14. jtakeman

    jtakeman
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    13,496
    Likes Received:
    1,571
    Loc:
    Northwestern CT.
    Nah, We'd side track it just to send ya into a tizzy. It is rather fun ya know! :p

    We are a bit of a crazy bunch. Woo hoo la la la hehe! carry on!
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  15. Woody1911a1

    Woody1911a1
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    140
    Loc:
    Marblehead , Ma
    ok question for both Scott and Don and whoever else that may be able to answer .

    i just really started to get interested in one . will either of these be able to run both my oil burner and my pellet stove ?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  16. jtakeman

    jtakeman
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    13,496
    Likes Received:
    1,571
    Loc:
    Northwestern CT.
    I'd say prolly not as the stat only has one set of contacts. But I could be wrong?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  17. hyfire

    hyfire
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    633
    Likes Received:
    76
    Loc:
    Ont, Canada
    THe CI-800 does not have good data logging like the other wifi T stats that is the only problem with it, and you can;t stop the schedule, you have to put it on hold mode, but each time you turn the stat off you have to put it back on hold mode, sucks. I;m testing it a few days now it works fine, but I;m not sure if its a good idea to inject 24v into the millivolt contacts?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  18. hyfire

    hyfire
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    633
    Likes Received:
    76
    Loc:
    Ont, Canada
    No, I don;t C goes directly to the transformer, the other side of the transformer goes to Rh and Rh is connected to the stove, so that is under the same terminal at the stat. The other return wire from the stove goes directly to W.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  19. smwilliamson

    smwilliamson
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    4,411
    Likes Received:
    747
    Loc:
    Southcoast, MA
    Then what do you have for a stove?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  20. hyfire

    hyfire
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    633
    Likes Received:
    76
    Loc:
    Ont, Canada
    Drolet ECO-65 see avatar!
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  21. smwilliamson

    smwilliamson
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    4,411
    Likes Received:
    747
    Loc:
    Southcoast, MA
    Sure. But you would need some priority controls set in place or a thermostat that has the option for auxiliary heat, whereby one is primary and under load the additional system kicks in. Understand that controls for heating equipment were designed without input from the stove makers.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  22. #47 Don2222, Sep 22, 2013
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2013
    Don2222

    Don2222
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    7,718
    Likes Received:
    446
    Loc:
    Salem NH
    Hello Woody

    The Ecobee does have the option for auxiliary heat.

    In my experience with boiler and furnace installations where two of the same heating appliances are utilized is called 2 stage heating. This uses one T-stat in a central location and when the 1st stage cannot bring the area up to temperature, then stage 2 would be initialized to satisfy the T-stat.This is used more in commercial properties with large spaces that require more BTUs to do the same job. In your case where you have an oil baseboard system and a zone heater such as a pellet stove because they heat differently, 2 stage heating with one T-Stat may not be the best solution. Perimeter baseboard with an interior T-Stat assures the space is evenly heated when the T-Stat is satisfied. A T-Stat in the vicinity of the pellet stove does not assure the perimeter areas are properly heated and up to temperature.

    Therefore using the same T-Stat for a pellet stove and oil boiler would not yield the same results as 2 stage heating that these T-Stats were designed to work with.

    The case of the oil boiler and pellet stove may be a little more complicated. First we have to analyze how we want this system to work.
    Maybe we can surmise that we want to not only have the oil boiler kick on when the pellet stove fails or runs out of pellets, but maybe it should kick on when their are large temperature drops outside to keep any peripheral areas that may contain water pipes from freezing and breaking.

    Therefore we may ascertain that a minimum of 2 independent T-Stats maybe ideal for this custom application and we can plan on that.

    In my own situation, I have rezoned my house from one central T-Stat into 2 separate baseboard zones and 2 T-Stats just for the oil heat. One T-Stat in the split is located in the livingroom and the other down the hall in the master bedroom. The later controls the heat to the bedrooms. The other T-Stat controls the heat for the living room and kitchen. Now, for this case, the new T-Stat for the pellet stove will be located in the middle of the hallway or the center of the house. The pellet stove in the basement pipes the heat up at this point. Therefore if the pellet stove fails or the perimeter gets too cold, one or both of the oil heating zones will kick in when needed.

    Here again the Ecobee with additional sensors can monitor peripheral areas and send alerts if the oil boiler zone or boiler fails. A great cross checking!

    Now if the layout of your home is different, then a custom design may be needed there. If you would like some suggestions, then tell us your layout.

    Hope this helps. :)
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  23. 343amc

    343amc
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    181
    Loc:
    West Michigan
    Both sound like too much work for me. Although a cool concept, my $20 thermostat, minus wi-fi or other fancy stuff suits me perfectly well. For me, low tech is better most times.

    Off to fire up my high tech microwave for another batch of popcorn.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
    SteveB, tjnamtiw and jtakeman like this.
  24. #49 jtakeman, Sep 22, 2013
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2013
    jtakeman

    jtakeman
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    13,496
    Likes Received:
    1,571
    Loc:
    Northwestern CT.
    I'll keep my $30 programmable. I barely can figure that out!
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
    tjnamtiw likes this.
  25. newtonfb

    newtonfb
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a 2005 enviro EF 5 evolution pellet stove. I made and hooked up everything according to the OP.

    Everything works up until the stove is supposed to click on and it doesnt. I make the thermostat call for heat, the relay clicks and lights up but nothing happens.
    I then just tied the thermostat into the two wires that are connected to the push to start button. When I made the thermostat call for heat it started the stove right up.
    The problem with that is my stove has a 15min start up timer, meaning if the stove doesnt get hot enough it will shut down and you have to press the button again. So usually you have to leave the blower off for hte first 15min and click it on when it gets hot enough or else the blower will cool the stove down before it gets up to temperature to bypass the shutdown.So with the wires hooked up to just the start switch I have no control over the blower or the auger feed rate.
    I thought that if I hooked this up to the thermostat section of the stove that it would do everything automatically, but im beginning to wonder what the thermostat interface does, or has the ability to do what i want it to do.
    How can i figure out if my stove can even start up via a thermostat?
    Im not too knowledgeable about this subject as you can see. Any help anyone can provide would be appreciated.

    I attached 3 pictures.
    One showing my controls
    Second a picture of the thermostat interface. In the top right of the picture you can see the white wire, thats where the thermostat is supposed to connect.
    Third is a picture of the manual where it talks about the thermostat hookup
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page

Entire Site copyright © 1995-2016 - email to webinfo@hearth.com
Hearth.com and HearthNet are property and trademarks of Hearth.com LLC Advertising Information