Installing hearth pad over carpeting

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

brider

Jun 13, 2008
New Haven, CT
Newbie here, I'm going to put my money where my mouth is on Sat and buy the Harman Oakwood freestander. Thinking ahead, is it possible or practical to build and install a hearth pad over carpeting?

The room the stove is going into is 17 x 16 with a-non-permanently installed carpet that is trimmed about 8-10" from each wall, with carpet pad underneath. The stove is going in a corner, facing 45 deg into the room.

If I build a hearth pad out of the .84k-value .75" mill board (what's that?) specified in the manual, covered in my favorite ceramic tile, will the pad tend to bend/crack at the grout lines when I step on it, since it's on a carpeted surface? I figure I'd have the same potential problem with the point loading of the stove feet, unless I design the tile so that each foot is centered on a tile, to distribute the load.

If I double-up the mill board (1.5"), will that eliminate the problem?

Should I cut the carpet away? This seems like the most fool-proof solution, but then I'd have un-bound carpet edges that'd look like crap.