intro and questions

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

altmartion

Feeling the Heat
Nov 8, 2013
pulaski ny
hi all, my name is chris. I did not see an intro section so I figured I would do it here along with my questions. I am a heating and mechanical contractor. mostly residential. I have been in the trade for just over 20 years and self employed for 12 years. I love the work I do. I really enjoy renewable energy projects. my 5 year old daughter and I are always tinkering with some sort of heating project that we make from material I bring home from jobs or just plain old scrap. I have an old Earth stove mp250. I bought it used 11 or 12 years ago from someone who bought it used. up until last summer I have never had any sort of issue with it. never, not one. last summer I figured I would tear it completely apart and inspect, clean and paint it up nice. well I found a crack in the hx. no biggie, I welded it and actually made a few improvements to the stove. put it back in and it is just like new. however being in hvac for a couple years , lol, the crack bothered me so I bought a used Quadrafire cb1200 from my inlaws. I put the cb in a different location because it is so much quieter. I hooked it up to a 2 stage t-sat to partner my in- floor heat. I made the pellet stove the primary for heat call. I don't like the temp swing I get. so I decided I would jump t&t and just run on low. well now it's too hot. I know, I am hard to please. how low can I adjust the feed before it becomes a problem? I miss my earth stove already.