1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Is a cant hook, or peavey, a must have tool ?

Post in 'The Gear' started by HDRock, Nov 27, 2012.

1. HDRock

HDRock Minister of Fire

Loc:
    Grand Blanc, Mi
    I am new to some of this so ,anyway, seems like one or the other are necessary, for rolling logs over while bucking
    Whats best cheapest one that wont break or bend

Helpful Sponsor Ads!

2. MasterMech

MasterMech Guest

3. HDRock

HDRock Minister of Fire

Loc:
    Grand Blanc, Mi
    These are different type of tool , but if it's a BFH or a sledge, or maul I will probably break it with my poor aim ;lol
  4. bogydave

bogydave Minister of Fire

Loc:
    So Cent ALASKA
    I cut wood for over 25 years without either.
    I have a cant hook now, useful & nice to have, but wouldn't stop me from getting wood if I didn't.
    Makes moving logs easier on the old back though. ;)

Got the Stihl one MM posted a link for. Hate to buy twice, so got one I don't think I can break.

Link to Cant hook/ log stand thread:
    http://www.hearth.com/talk/threads/cant-hook-as-a-log-lifter-stand.92446/
    jeff_t likes this.
  5. WhitePine

WhitePine Feeling the Heat

jeff_t likes this.
  6. jeff_t

jeff_t Minister of Fire

Loc:
    SE MI
    Not a 'must have', but a 'nice to have'.

I haven't used a Peavey, but I had them both in my hands when I was shopping. The Logrite won as soon as I held it. Another plus is that everything can be replaced, and you can switch from peavey to cant hook by punching out a rolled pin. You'll be happier with a cant hook, though. I have never felt the need for a peavey.

I have a 60". Ideally, I would have a 48" as well.
  7. firefighterjake

firefighterjake Minister of Fire

Loc: