Is anybody familiar with a Washington Stove Works Olympic-Crest????

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

BikeMedic2709

Aug 31, 2006
North-Central Ohio
I am attempting a rebuild of this stove. It has been a daunting task so far. This is my first rebuild. I can find little to no info on this stove. Any help would be wonderful.
How much stove cement should be used at the joints? How do you know when there is enough cement on the joint? Just goop it on and scrape off the excess? Like I said, I am new to rebuilding stoves. Thought I would give it a try as opposed to spending the money on a new stove. (Strict budget.)
Any suggestions on door handles? The doors have the cast part with a threded rod sticking out of them, and the handles are more than gone. I have attempted making hardwood handles, but these dry and crack off in a few months. I am looking for a better solution.

BikeMedic2709 said:
I am attempting a rebuild of this stove. It has been a daunting task so far. This is my first rebuild. I can find little to no info on this stove. Any help would be wonderful.
How much stove cement should be used at the joints? How do you know when there is enough cement on the joint? Just goop it on and scrape off the excess? Like I said, I am new to rebuilding stoves. Thought I would give it a try as opposed to spending the money on a new stove. (Strict budget.)