Is it possible to heat with only a pellet stove?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Kc350twin

Oct 8, 2012
Severn, MD
Hello all!

I am new to pellets and like them so far. I recently bought a house that has a pellet stove in the basement to heat a small work shop. I added some flex duct to aid the heating of the upstairs. Now I am looking to eliminate all Oil heat due to it's very high cost. I am looking in to a new pellet stove for my living room.I thought I'd ask the forums before asking a salesman at a hearth store.

I have a 1200 sqft home built in 1926. Oil furnace for heat and Central A/C. Newer windows and doors, 2 Bedrooms on the second level and the living room takes up most of the first level. Here is a quick lay out of the rooms on the first level. In the two lower bottom corners is where I can place the stove. The Living area has two ceiling fans that could help circulate heat.

resource_export_1350250369611_zpsdbba341d.jpg

I have a ton of questions and I understand that there are tons a variables so I will give info as needed.

I live in Central Maryland near Annapolis.

Is it possible to heat the whole house with pellets?

Will second level be "Ice Cold" and first level "Hot as Heck"? I like it cooler where I sleep but not freezing.

Can I run the Fan for the Central A/C or Oil furnace to help distribute the heat even out the rooms?

The Misses is pushing to replace the A/C unit with a Heat Pump and I am researching the Pellet Stove path or even a Pellet furnace. I don't care for the Heat Pump cool feel and like the warm forced air better.