Is my hearth large enough?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

THEMAN

Oct 22, 2009
CENTRAL CA
Hello all,

I am a newbie to this forum as well as the insert world. I have always loved the crackle and sounds of the open flame fireplace however, with raising gas and electrical bills along with EPA limitations(California) I am looking at the efficiency and increased heat output of an insert. I have a deal on a Buck model 91 wood insert for $300.00 however, I’m not sure if I will be able to use it. As you can tell from the pic(hopefully it loaded) My fireplace is not your typical straight brick front. It has ‘pillars’ on either side of the opening that impede the size of the “trim kit?” (newbie) that surrounds and seals the insert. This total with is just under 45 inches with only 4 inches from firebox opening to pillar on either side. My question is, the specs state that I need a hearth that is 24 inches in length(http://www.buckstove.com/buckfiles/manuals/Buck-Stove-Model-91-Manual-(Rev-10102008).pdf). Mine is only 16 inches from the front end to the opening of the firebox, a full 8 inches too short. My question is two fold actually probably folded a few time over haha. Is this hearth requirement due to the fact that the stove can put out a advertised 50k btu and warm a 3200sqft home?(http://www.buckstove.com/wood/model91.html) So if my home is 1800sqft and I doubt that I will have to run the stove at the same temperatures required to heat a 3200sqft home will my 16” hearth suffice? Oh and by the way the flooring at the end of the hearth is carpet. If this will not work, w