Is sweeping once a month excessive for your first year?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

ikessky

Minister of Fire
Sep 2, 2008
Northern WI
I figured since this is my first year of burning, I would sweep the liner once a month to keep an eye on things. Is this excessive/anal retentive? The roof is easy to get on and the liner is only about 18', so it shouldn't take very long.

Boarderline excessive compulsive :)

burntime said:

Yes...I agree with the part about the "excessive" chimney cleaning.....BUT NOT about letting Favre go back to Wisconsin!! Besides...Favre wants a RING before he retires!!! :) Go Jets!!!
kev

Go ahead, and your first couple sweeps will tell you how often you actually need to do it.

But with a good stove and a good chimney and good wood, you'll likely find no problems. I did mostly "bad" fires last winter as I was learning to use the stove and with a mostly inadequately seasoned wood supply-- rarely managed to even get the thing above 350 stovetop and mostly lower than that-- so I was worried about creosote build-up. But when my sweep came this fall, he found very little at all, less than a quart of powdery deposit from all 15 feet of chimney and no glassy crap at all.

Sadly enough I am now a closet Jets fan. But we had him 1st!!! ;-P

Checking it once a month is a good thing. Sweeping it if if doesn't need it is just undue wear and tear on the liner and the brush.