Is this a good deal on a used Stihl MS310...

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

WestVirginian

Nov 27, 2005
Hi everyone--

Little background: I'm expecting to get a woodstove shortly, and plan to cut my own wood. I'll probably need a few cords a year, and will be cutting in the Appalachians--don't expect the trees to be huge. I'm a newbie to chainsaws, but my father-in-law has promised to teach me how to use one safely (he worked as a lumberjack in Canada, and cuts his own wood).

I just called on a classified ad for a used Stihl MS310. The ad reads: MS310, still under warranty, 2 bars, 20" and 16", carrying case, paperwork, runs great, looks new, $200.

When I talked to the guy he said it's almost 2 years old (so warranty is almost over), has about 50 hours of use (he runs a firewood business, and his Husky was in the shop, so he had to buy this Stihl to use for a few weeks until his Husky was ready). I haven't seen it yet, but he says it's in great shape. Comes with the two bars and two chains, plus the other stuff.

My three main questions are: 1) Does this seem like a good deal, assuming it's in good condition?

2) Would this be a good chainsaw for me, given my skill level (or lack thereof ;o) and what I plan to use it for?

3) How can I go and look at it without seeming completely ignorant? I'm not really sure what to look for, and feel like I'd just be trusting the guy when he says it's in great shape. Any specific things that I should look for when inspecting it?

Thanks so much for any info. Ian