Is This Mennonite Stove Any Good?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

seedy

Oct 6, 2011
TX
I have contacted this seller and will be going to check this out today (http://houston.craigslist.org/app/2591376963.html). I would just like some opinions on this as I am new to woodburning stoves, but am looking for a cook/heating stove for a 24' diameter geodesic dome shelter @ geoshelters.com.

From the seller: "The total weight is 154 lbs. However, it separates into 3 diferent pieces for easier handling. The fire box and the top are made of thick cast iron. The dimensions are: 28'' across the front, 26'' across the side, and 54'' tall. The largest size log it will fit is aproximatelly 6'' in diameter by 18'' long. The burn time depends alot on the type of wood you use, but I think an average time would be two to three hours. Smoke does not escape into the room when the the stove is closed up. As far as the smallest area you could put it in, the only answer I can offer is that you can control how hot the stove gets, and of course if you don't want the room too hot you keep a small fire."

Should I be concerned about the burn time? How do people keep a fire going through the night anyway--what should I look for? Do you see any red flags about the stove?

ThaNK YoU!!

Just curious where the Mennonite part comes from? lol

Never mind, if I would have gone to the craigslist site I could have answered my own question.

Maybe there is a joke I'm missing, but it says it was made by the Mennonites last year?