is this the same electric saw ? dolmar es-171 vs. makita uc-4000

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Precaud, the only reservation I have is that my chaps (per the label on box) say they are not rated to stop an electric saw b/c of the torque, . . . should I be concerned (I'm no safety expert that's for sure), maybe I should click around a little here and other sites

Thanks

Chuchie, I'm no safety expert either so I can't comment on that. No question, my UC4000 does cut differently than my Dolmar gas saws do; it's a lower chain speed event and your cutting habits will adjust accordingly. But I don't consider either less safe than the other. Both will require your complete attention, as I'm sure you appreciate...

I copied out below from http://www.stihlusa.com/apparel/protect_pants.html. Yikes, and I thought the 4 hp electric I've been running was safer (from an equipment standpoint, not operator) than gas.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION