Is this too much for a Jotul F 500 Oslo?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

kiteboarder

Sep 16, 2016
SoCal
Hi,

I'm new to mountain living but learning fast. Since I'm living in the mountains full time I need to replace my "weekender" Franklin stove with something efficient to heat a 1300 sq foot 2 story cabin with high ceilings daily. The cabin walls are insulated, but the high ceilings are not. The basement crawl space walls are non-insulated walls (will be insulating them next year), but at least it's fully enclosed. Part of the upstairs windows are dual pane, but most windows in the house, including the ones downstairs are all single pane. I'll be dealing with temps ranging from 10F (not often) up to 40F in the winter. I would expect the average at night to be around 30F. Southern California mountains.

I'm looking at this used Jotul F 500 Oslo. It's the brown version and it looks to be in 7 out of 10 condition. Not heavily used. The guy has the pipe, but he says it's pretty rusty so I might have to refinish or get a new pipe.

The guys us asking $1200.

What do you think of this stove and the price? I know the brown finish adds to the value/cost as well. I quite like how it looks. Reviews seem to be all over the place. Some love it, some don't. Regardless, anything will be better than my Franklin Olympic. One thing I need to keep in mind is that bringing it up to my home will cost me around $300 with help... So I need to factor that into the price. Buying from a shop might cost a lot more for the stove, but delivery charges might be less.

Attachments