Is this wool I can use, behind my insert and to use as a soft block off plate???? On ebay..........

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
block off plate above the damper area with insulation instead of a metal plate, at least that is my understanding but I am far from a expert............ that is why I am here.........

I agree that is a benefit, but I also think, as in one of my other questions posted, it was felt that there may be some benefit, even if small, to capture some of that heat in the insert area to bring out the heatilator holes. Also, if I put a layer behind the stove, then instead of heating the brick, it will keep temp hotter in insert. I am still trying to figure all of this out, before I get the stove in.

Its a sound blocker. I doubt that is what you are looking for.

I was told it is used to block sound but it also is the same mineral insulator stuff that is used for insulating. What is the difference from this and the stuff spoke of here, about mineral insulation?

woodsie8 said:
I was told it is used to block sound but it also is the same mineral insulator stuff that is used for insulating. What is the difference from this and the stuff spoke of here, about mineral insulation?

My installer used fiberglass insulation to pack the sides of the open chimney damper.Since fiberglass wont burn and is used as a insulator they use it.

Pook said:
stanleyjohn said:
woodsie8 said:

My installer used fiberglass insulation to pack the sides of the open chimney damper.Since fiberglass wont burn and is used as a insulator they use it.