Isle Royale - Difficult to control the burn.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Jags

Moderate Moderator
Staff member
Aug 2, 2006
Northern IL
I am posting this for a new user @js156 that is having difficulty in starting a thread...

Hello all. I have had fireplaces before but I am new to wood stoves. I had an Isle Royale installed last week. I am concerned that it is burning too fast and too hot.
I have had it for a week and it will burn 3 logs in 90 to 100 minutes starting on modestly hot coals. My chimney exhausts about 27 feet above the top of the stove after going through two 90 degree elbows on an outside wall.
If I fill the stove, it will burn amazingly hot for two and a half hours, making my 2900 sf house reach 75, and after that time the flames are gone but hot ashes left and then the house cools down. So I am sort of too hot and then too cold in a fairly brief amount of time for a stove that has a 3 cubic foot firebox. Please note that I do have the vents as closed as I can get them and that I keep the doors closed.
In the picture that I am hoping to upload I, again, have the doors completely closed and the vents as closed as I can get them and the flame is still blowing to the sides. I am wondering if I have too much draft and that is responsible for the quick fires.
The drywall behind the unit gets so hot that I cannot keep my hand on it. Today, I express ordered a infrared thermometer to check the walls temp because I am afraid of a fire. I also ordered a stove top thermometer.
Is there anyone who knows how hot is too hot for a drywall wall?