It's Going Better

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Bitterbee

Sep 15, 2006
Me and my old Fisher stove are doing ok. I takes a pretty high temp to warm up this house...keeping it at 500 ish but after a few hours of that everything is warm. Does burn down during the night but still have my hot coals to relight. This stove takes a bit of wood to get it to burn hot and continue but at least I have supplemental heat.

My biggest obstacle in fire building now has been making my own kindling. Yeah, you can laugh. But I'm not too good with the hatchet...need more muscle.

I restarted the fire this morning and in less than an hour up to 450 so when reach five I have to let it burn open yet a bit and then can close down. I use Daves method of closing down the left and leaving the right open a few turns. Just really have to keep my eye on the temps. And try not to go through too much wood. Once it burns that 500 degree range i can pop a log on now and then.

I guess the newer stoves don't require so much attention...?

Hope everyone is warm

Karen

Glad you're getting a better feel for your stove, and that it's holding the fire overnight. I imagine you sleep better knowing the install is safe as well.
I burned my stove HOT last year. Most times I was in the 500 plus (flu temp) range and I was feeding it a lot of wood. It was throwing way too much heat. I've since acquired a manual for the stove and learned a great deal on this site.