Jotul #3 never used - what year and any thoughts?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

aframe_heat

Dec 23, 2021
MD
Hi,
I am currently in the market for a wood stove. I grew up in a house that used a wood stove as its main heat source. But, my dad made the one in our house, and its been 20 years since I lived there, so I have no real experiences with commercial wood stoves. I live in the woods in a small a-frame (about 800 sq ft) and would like to get a nice wood stove, but don't have a large budget. I've been looking mainly at Vermont Castings and Jotul - I would like to have some glass on the door. I've been reading all about wood stoves for the past few weeks and my brain is a little bit overloaded -- SO many options.

However, I just came across this Jotul #3 and it seems like a pretty good deal. I have emailed the seller for more information, because there is very little info in the ad. It says that "it has never been used" and it "comes with pipe." It does not say when it was manufactured or purchased, but it seems like an unused Jotul with (at least some) pipe for $700 is a pretty good deal.

Based on this picture, does anyone know what year this was made? Would love to hear opinions about this stove, the price, etc, etc.

jotul #3 for sale.jpg

Looks like it may be a Jotul 3AP or a 3-TDIC. If so, it is a catalytic version. It should have a UL tag on the back of the stove for a positive ID. This was an early EPA version, circa 1990.