Jotul 400 too much stove?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi All,

This is my first time posting on this site, so hello. I wish I had found it befor Ihad purchased my stove.

So here is my dilemma.

I recently purchased a Jotul f100 Nordic. My house is a 1200 square foot ranch with uninsulated concrete block in the front part and poorly insulated bedrooms in the back.

I have the stove in the front part of the house,the block part, which is about 720 square feet, 24' X 30'. It is mostly open with one room with a door that is 12' X 12'. All in all the stove works pretty well except for the fact that I have to constantly load it every 2 hours when the temp gets below 40. Plus in order to keep the house from getting too cold at night I need to get up at least 2 times a night to load the darn thing.

The dealer I bought it from has Jotul 400 that was traded in. I can get that stove for $600 plus trade in my stove.

My question is, is that stove going to be too much? Right now we don't heat the back rooms of the house with our current set up. There is also a hallway that the heat would have to go down in order to get to those rooms anyway. However the room in the front of the house is generally cooler, and the kitchen which is on the other side of the room opposite the stove is also a little cool. Compared to the area directly around the stove. I would really like, actually, need the longer burn time. The constant stoking is getting to be a little much. Plus I work from home, so the stove is runnung 24/7 and serves as the main heat source for the front part of the house.