1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Jotul F3 CB - can it simmer my stew for dinner?

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by janeinprovence, Apr 5, 2013.

  1. janeinprovence

    janeinprovence New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Loc:
    Pertuis, France
    Calling all Jotul F3 CB owners: does this stove get hot enough on top to be able to simmer food, or boil water (gradually), as my present stove does? I would hate to lose this advantage once I replace the old one (an unknown brand, made in China, long before everything was made in China).
    The Jotul seems to suit my heating requirements fine, I'm just wondering about how hot it gets on top (very, hopefully!) .
    My brother in the UK has just got an ILD3 (Jotul group) and he tells me it only gets warm on top - he can even put his hand on it while it's burning! So he can heat plates on it, but it's no good for simmering (he's got a cooker for that, he tells me, with typical Brit humour).
    I can't get a straight or trustworthy answer from the vendor on this. Can anyone out there help?
    Thanks.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. BrotherBart

    BrotherBart Hearth.com LLC Mid-Atlantic Division Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    29,053
    Loc:
    Northern Virginia
    Water boils at 99.99C and the top of my F3 CB gets up to 260C to 288C so it will boil your stew. Just be prepared to be there the whole time feeding it wood every couple of hours.
  3. colin.p

    colin.p Burning Hunk

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    175
    Loc:
    Ottawa Canada
    If the stove is top vented, it leaves very little space for a good sized pot, especially if the stove pipe is double walled. I measured roughly 7 inches from the pipe to the front corner.
  4. colin.p

    colin.p Burning Hunk

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    175
    Loc:
    Ottawa Canada
    The forum seems to be hick-upping tonight.:) I wanted to add that I do boil water for coffee on mine with no problems. Takes awhile but it does boil.
  5. janeinprovence

    janeinprovence New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Loc:
    Pertuis, France
    Thanks a lot for taking the time to reply, Colin and BrotherBart. All very informative, that helps me greatly in my choice. The stove will be vented at the back, as my present stove is, so that will leave more room for a pot (or two!).

Share This Page