Jotul F500 vs Woodstock Fireview?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Gyprat

Oct 4, 2011
SC
We've been looking for a new wood stove for a while. The choices were finally narrowed down to Jotul Oslo F500 or Woodstock Fireview. $1.900 sale price on Fireviews is very attractive. Jotuls are beautiful stoves, we saw one in a store and really liked it.
Now we are having a hard time making a decision.
I have some questions about the stoves and hope someone can help with answers. I have no prior experience with wood stoves.

Fireview has no ash pan. Is it really important to have one? How do you clean the ashes from the stove and how often?
Is Fireview easy to maintain?
Jotuls get mixed reviews. Some love them, some hate them. Many reviews mentioned that Jotuls are picky about wood quality. I don't plan on burning fresh wood but most wood will be seasoned for 6-12 month. Should I be concerned about it?
We have no fireplace and will need to install the chimney throught the attic. What Class A chimney brand would you recommend? I don't mind paying a little more for quality products.
Any help with will be appreciated.

with no ash pan, you have to shovel em out, messy, and you have to let the fire die down. I empty mine every morning when i get the paper, no muss no fuss. some that have a pan shovel anyway. The 500 is easy to run, easy to maintain, and looks good to.

I rarely empty the ash pan of my Jotul - I just shovel. I cannot make a comparison to the Fireview, but I really like my Jotul