Jotul F600 Firebox dynamics

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

OldHickory

Oct 31, 2007
East TN
I've had my Jotul F600 for one year now & I've got a couple of issues. I'm new to the air-tight EPA stove setup, having previously burned since the early 80's with a plate steel VolcanoII from Defiant (was a great stove)! With the Jotul, I notice I can only get an active burn with material above the grates. Around the border of the firebox (off the grates), wood just smolders (if even that). Also, even when I have a healthy fire going I notice wood at the back of the firebox will not burn (dead spot)... again this just smolders or does nothing. Does anyone else experience these characteristics with their Jotul?