Jotul Firelight 12 Purchase Question

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

wonk

Oct 5, 2013
Hi-
I've been burning wood for many years in an older Lange stove and am looking to move on to a more modern stove, hopefully with a larger capacity. I'm looking at a Jotul Firelight 12. It's a 1995 model and the person who's selling it doesn't know much about the condition it's in. Before I make the trek to look at it, I wanted to get some opinions as I have no experience with catalytic burners or modern stoves in general. Anyone have strong feelings about this model? I've always had an aversion to catalytic stoves because I hear they're very finnicky... I have three or so cords of bone dry wood for this winter, but after that I'll be on to wood that was split this spring. Is that going to be a big problem for me? Also - I've attached the pictures of the stove that I have. It looks like something was removed from the side of the stove. Anyone know what is supposed to go there? The stove has a broken front leg that I can replace for less than 100$. With that in mind, and presuming that there's no hidden problems, what's a stove like this worth?
Jotul front.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
the stove is missing rear burn plate, cat cover, the cat and the side burn plate and most likely the cat chamber is toasted if it has been run like this. it will take alot of work and money to get it working again. but could be a good stove.