Jotul Insert Clearances & Mantel Heat Shield

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

vgrund

Feeling the Heat
Dec 8, 2005
Amherst, NH
Hi All,

I've been haunting this forum since 2005 and it has been a great source of information. So, thanks.

A couple of years ago I installed a gas insert in one of my two fireplaces. It is located in an infrequently used formal room located near the center of the house. We waffled on wood versus pellet versus gas when selecting that insert. It was already plumbed for gas (replacing wasteful gas logs) and not used frequently, so we went with gas and an efficient insert. It would have been nice to use a biofuel there but it was not very practical.