Jotul Oslo vs. Castine

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Britales

Nov 14, 2007
Eastern Shore, VA.
Newbie here so please be patient! We are looking at Jotul stoves after quite a bit of research, much of it on this very helpful website! 2200' house, 2 floors, 1909 construction, reinsulated to a fair extent, oil heat, new Pella windows double pane. We want to use the stove as a primary heat source,we do not need upstairs bedrooms to be toasty at night! We will be locating the stove in our Dining room hooked into an existing flue which we are having relined by our chimney man! Dining room is in center of downstairs area! OK I think I've got most of the info out there! Here's the dilemma!!
I like the Oslo - longer burn time, front and side load, little bigger( don't have to crank it as much)!
My lovely wife - is put off by the footprint of the hearthboard -(54x50 OSLO) as opposed to the 44x40 of the Castine which she has now championed! I think she would deal with the larger area hearth but I'm not sure I want to see that look on her face after it is installed! Oh, just spoke with another dealer and he has a Hearthstone Homestead that was just returned by a woman who did not like the "aesthetics"( he's calling me back with a "nice price") I'm sure you folks have some helpful advice! PLEASE!! Also top loaders - much more convienient than front or side models- just wondering?
thanks in advance,
Gene