1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Jotul Rangeley Gasket Info!

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by Pallet Pete, Apr 19, 2012.

  1. Pallet Pete

    Pallet Pete Guest

    We had been having occasional issues with our stove getting to much air even with tight gaskets and today a Jotul rep came to our house and looked over the setup. All is good he said so he called the factory and talked to a gentleman who said jotul has had some moister problems with there gasket cement retaining moisture in there stoves. This apparently means that the stove does not get a air tight seal when it is burning full blast because the fire is pulling so much air. We put the new gasket in with different cement and walla problem solved. Jotul has proven to have awesome service and quality for us and we are so grateful to them for that. they sent a actual jotul rep to our house and had them look it over all the way from GrandRapids Mi an hour and a half away. That's customer service! Once again thanks jotul !

    Pete
    Scott2373 likes this.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Bub381

    Bub381 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    864
    Loc:
    Mid-coast Maine
    Prob why ours was back puffing under the top.It's sold now.Oh well.I did have to tighten the door latch 3 times because the gasket kept flattening out.Just the usual stuff there.
  3. remkel

    remkel Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,459
    Loc:
    Southwest NH
    I think I can relate to your issue....been there, done that.
  4. BrowningBAR

    BrowningBAR Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    7,607
    Loc:
    Doylestown, PA

    I have my doubts that that is why you were suffering from back puffing.
  5. BrowningBAR

    BrowningBAR Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    7,607
    Loc:
    Doylestown, PA

    It's one of the issues you will have when dealing with a top loading stove. If the gasket does not sit perfectly level you can end up with gaps in the seal due to the fact that the seal is relying only on the weight of the top loading door.
  6. MasterMech

    MasterMech Guest

    We have had zero issues with ours so far. Not even a door tightening.
  7. Pallet Pete

    Pallet Pete Guest

    The gaskets that where causing the problems where the front door and ash door gaskets. We did not replace the top door gasket. This is apparently a known issue fom the factory. You should not have any issue with a top load door excpecially with the Rangely door. That door weighs a ton !
  8. Pallet Pete

    Pallet Pete Guest


    That's good to hear masterMech ! Our stove was a display model but never burned sounds like it may be one of the first models. Maybe they addressed the issue in later models then. I can say we have been extreamly happy with it overall. The stove is a real beauty to burn and watch burn.

    Pete
  9. Joful

    Joful Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    5,430
    Loc:
    Philadelphia
    The bigger problem is when one of these stoves gets into the hands of a novice burner. You guys with long experience can recognize a problem exists with the stove, and call the dealer or manufacturer to have it addressed. Someone with less experience may not recongize there is any problem, or if they do, might figure it's operator error. I wonder how many people have bought this stove as their first, have this problem, and haven't called their dealer or manufacturer to have it addressed.

    Seems to me stove manufacturers should be doing something to assure they do not have such problems. That may mean building a fire in each stove before it ships, although I have to imagine a clever engineer could devise another test to identify such problems.
  10. BrowningBAR

    BrowningBAR Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    7,607
    Loc:
    Doylestown, PA

    The top lid on the Defiant is a big heavy bastard. If you don't seat the gasket correctly the top lid will not seal properly. I'd bet dollars to doughnuts the Jotul is the same way.
  11. mellow

    mellow Resident Stove Connoisseur

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,966
    Loc:
    Salisbury, MD
    Don't really need to build a fire, I got a large pack of smoke bombs the last time I was down to SC, for some reason they view them as fireworks here in MD (thats a whole different topic) but anyway, when I do a new stove install I will usually use 2-3 smoke bombs to test for leaks and draft. Comes in handy for finding those annoying leaks.
  12. Bub381

    Bub381 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    864
    Loc:
    Mid-coast Maine
    Mine didn't leak under the griddle but under the stovetop.
  13. Pallet Pete

    Pallet Pete Guest


    That is very possible the jotul top load is a big heavy bastard as well. I checked that today and it is fine thank goodness! Those two gaskets look like areal b-&$,? to replace on the stove. I use an incense stick to find leaks normally they work very well any leaks and the smoke goes straight into the leaking spot. There also great for routine checking of door tightness usually once a month I check. Thanks BrowningBar for the prodding it makes a lot of sense when I think about it.

    Pete
  14. Bub381

    Bub381 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    864
    Loc:
    Mid-coast Maine
    I bought me some of those incense sticks quite some time ago but like i said,I don't have the stove anymore but good to know.
  15. Scott2373

    Scott2373 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    137
    Loc:
    Williamson, New York
    Great info Pete! Thank you for posting this. I definitely need to replace my gaskets. For the past week my stove has been running like the door was cracked open (i.e., very poorly). Today I had a dickens of a time getting a fire going. I had a hard time keeping a Super Cedar lit without backpuffing, to give you an idea of how bad it's gotten in such a short time. Just for every bodies info, could you please post the size and length of the gaskets needed for the door and ash door as well as the type / brand of cement you used? I think most of us are going to need the info sooner than later if there are a bunch of "defective" ones out there. Great post!Thanks again!
  16. Bluerubi

    Bluerubi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    134
    Loc:
    Auburn, NH
  17. Pallet Pete

    Pallet Pete Guest

    I was contacted a few weeks ago about the issue by my stove dealer and asked to give feedback to jotul I said yes I would be happy to. The jotul factory rep gave me a call a few hours later and we talked about the issue. It appears that they have fixed the problem and wanted to know how are stove was doing. I said just fine and we love it! Well they are sending us a wintergrill accessory for free as a way to apologize. They are awesome!

    Pete
    jeff_t likes this.
  18. Backwoods Savage

    Backwoods Savage Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    27,764
    Loc:
    Michigan
    Scott, that does not sound like a gasket problem at all. That sounds like a bad downdraft in the chimney. To fix this many folks have to preheat the flue. There are several ways to do this including burning paper. You might even have to put the paper right up by or in the flue opening. Some folks have also had good luck with a hair drier. Running that while aiming at the flue should do the trick but might take a bit longer. Or even a torch would work. If you have a horizontal run out the back vs the top exit, then placing a 1/4 or 1/2 super cedar there may also do the trick.
    MasterMech likes this.
  19. Pallet Pete

    Pallet Pete Guest

    Scott that does sound like a back puff/downdraft issue You may need to look into a new chimney cap like this. onehttp://www.woodlanddirect.com/Chimney/Wind-Resistant-Chimney-Caps

    The way they work is breaking up the wind that usually goes down the chimney and allowing it to flow in a straight line over the chimney allowing proper draft. We also use on and it works extremely well.

    Pete
    Scott2373 likes this.
  20. Pallet Pete

    Pallet Pete Guest

    The burning out of control was our issue and the gaskets fixed that nicely. We used tight woven gaskets for it.

    Front door was 1/2" if I remember right and the ash door was 3/8" gasket. I used rutland cement http://www.rutland.com/productinfo/stove-gasket-adhesive.html I find this style of door cement to be easy to use with much less mess than the caulk style. I have not messed with the top load door because we don't use it much except to cook on.

    Pete
  21. MasterMech

    MasterMech Guest

    Just going to add that mine has been trouble free from day 1.
  22. Pallet Pete

    Pallet Pete Guest

    This was a factory issue but I don't think it affected every stove either or there would be a lot more complaints. glad yours worked well !

    Pete

Share This Page