Just bought my P35i (yay!), Best place to buy a liner kit?

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by CBL, Aug 14, 2013.

  1. CBL

    CBL
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2013
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    17
    Loc:
    MA
    Was finally able to pull the trigger today on my P35i as i've been dwelling on it for 6 months, my Harman dealer was running a summer special so decided to take advantage of it (Really impressed with the stove quality) I also purchased the OAK and the harman spacer that will allow air into the flue for the OAK.

    Anyway I need to buy a chimney liner and was wondering where the best place to go to.... my chimney flue 25' long but would like to get a 30' long just to have some extra slack. Need 4" dia. and would prefer 2-ply 316ti, from my research it doesn't seem necessary to insulate so I won't bother with that. Also as Im drawing outside air from the flue , would I also need a short section of 3" chimney linear quality pipe to shove past the block off plate? or will any kind of metallic flexible pipe do?

    I've checked eBay, chimney linear depot, rockford, and they all seem to have the same stuff with about the same prices for the kits (top plate+cap and insert connector incl.). Is there any difference here between what these guys sell? I want a quality linear that I wont have to worry about but I also don't want to get ripped off. If anyone here has any recommendations for online suppliers I can order from that would be mucho appreciated.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. will711

    will711
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    1,197
    Likes Received:
    892
    Loc:
    Pocono mts.
    Congrats on the new stove! Welcome to the show. Nice choice in a stove.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  3. Woody1911a1

    Woody1911a1
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    140
    Loc:
    Marblehead , Ma
    i got mine from rockford . nice kit , nice price .
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  4. CBL

    CBL
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2013
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    17
    Loc:
    MA
    One last question about the OAK. is it acceptable to draw air from inside the room for combustion air on a p35i? I know it's less than ideal but i may have to drill some holes to run the OAK correctly, but would like to get my stove installed and running right first before i install the OAK.I really don't want to draw outside air from the flue as I would like to keep it sealed tight.

    The manual recommends to use the OAK but doesn't mention its allowed or not allowed for the stove to draw combustion air from inside the room (assuming why there are slots on the side of the surround). It only requires the OAK for mobile home installs. If I read the accentra install instructions it's more explicit about allowing to draw air from inside the room for combustion. Sorry for the stupid questions just want to be 1000% sure.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  5. john193

    john193
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,053
    Likes Received:
    184
    Loc:
    Southeast PA
    You can draw combustion air from the inside with no issue. Think about where the air comes for your dryer, or furnace? It is recommended because it helps increase overall efficiency but outside of a mobile home it isn't required per harman or code.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  6. smwilliamson

    smwilliamson
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    4,466
    Likes Received:
    772
    Loc:
    Southcoast, MA
    Not entirely true. Mandatory in ALL mobile homes and in some places, believe it or not, AJH may consider a modular home a mobile home...happened once to me. IF you are installing the unit in a closed room that is less than 530 sqft you are going to have to install an oak, to reduce clearances to windows you may have to install an oak, if the AJH tells you you have to install an OAK you will need to put one in.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
    Lousyweather likes this.
  7. john193

    john193
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,053
    Likes Received:
    184
    Loc:
    Southeast PA
    I see. Thanks for the clarification.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  8. CBL

    CBL
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2013
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    17
    Loc:
    MA
    Well where the stove is and where my other appliances are it is a reach and I think my only option at this point is to drill. I was partially thinking about to running it down into the ash pit with flex hose to the clean out door in the basement then another 15' run of rigid pipe out of my basement window to draw outside air. Total length would be well over 25' dont think that length of line would be acceptable at the end of the day and my building inspector didn't seem keen on this either. There is a mortar patch on the outside of the clean out I may re-drill back into for outside air, the total run from that would be alot shorter, hence why I was going to put it off for another day and have the room provide the combustion air for now.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  9. Oregon aloha

    Oregon aloha
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2013
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    57
    Loc:
    Willamette Valley and the coast
    I think you can run your OAK into a room if you install a biometric vent for that room to outside air either through the wall or floor. It works with the codes in Oregon.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  10. john193

    john193
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,053
    Likes Received:
    184
    Loc:
    Southeast PA
    I think there is a manufacturer (Selkirk?) that has an intake and exhaust pipe built into one. I agree the current plan doesn't sound ideal. Even if you have to run 2 pipes up your chimney, you shouldn't run into issues with adding a block off plate.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  11. Lousyweather

    Lousyweather
    Expand Collapse
    Guest


    and, if the AHJ tells you that you need to paint the stove lavender and give him a ham sammich before he/she will sign the permit, you need to do that as well, otherwise, there isn't anything compelling him or her to sign the permit, when in actuality, as long as you follow the directions (UL listed appliance), you should pass ANY inspection.....
     
  12. jtakeman

    jtakeman
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    13,496
    Likes Received:
    1,572
    Loc:
    Northwestern CT.
    You got off cheap, Usually cost a steak and lobsta dinna! :p
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  13. fmsm

    fmsm
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    135
    Loc:
    South of Boston MA
    Call smwilliamson and have him install it. He did my p35i
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature

Share This Page