Just how much wood?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Dec 17, 2009
Mid-Michigan
I am new to the wood burning scene and have enjoyed this forum alot.
I had a Hearthstone Tribute installed about 4 weeks ago and am pleased with it.
I have been cutting wood to get thru this season and trying to get next years in to get it drying.
The question I have is how much wood do I need to make it thru a heating season in pickup truck loads (easier to understand then cords)
some background info: I live in mid Michigan, 1400 sq ft ranch, my tribute heats my whole main floor. burns 24/7, wood most likely used for next season elm and cherry.

12 good pick up loads just my 2 cents..

I say you want to get ahead of the next 2 years. That means this will be your busiest time ever. Once you get ahead it will be like most things easy to stay ahead. Get organized and allocate different storage areas now so it will be easy to add without mixing new with old.

I don't see how "pick up loads" is easier to understand. What kind of pickup? How are you going to load it, stacked or thrown? How high above the bed sides are you going ? My F450 long wide is going to haul way more than my buddies Tacoma..