Just purchased Avalon Arbor stove...

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

habsfan70

Oct 29, 2008
Long Island, NY
Just had the stove installed a couple of weeks ago and finally got some cold weather. I am brand new to the wood stove scene so bear with me. The stove seemed pretty easy to operate and I had a nice fire going quickly. The blower kicked on and it heated my 1600 square foot house nicely. Two questions: One, I used a Duraflame fire starting brick to get the fire going. It worked great but are there any dangers/downside to using this product. Second is dirty glass. When I slow the burn down the glass gets filthy. I am using seasoned/dry wood. Sorry if these questions are basic but like I said I am new to all this. Any oppinions on the Avlon Arbor would be great to. Thanks.

The use of a starter is fine. DuraFlame waxed logs in the stove are not ok.

It sounds like the stove is not getting hot enough. Do you have a thermometer on the stove top? If yes, what temperatures are you seeing?

I average between 400-450 f once it gets going. After doing some reading on the boards I see I'm not the only one dealing with the glass issue. I am going to apply some of the suggestions from other posters and see what happens. Thanks

Good choice of stoves habsfan,