Just Purchased My First Saw

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

MacinJosh

Feeling the Heat
Mar 4, 2015
Crestwood, KY
So after consulting Consumer Reports and my local shop guy, I decided to pull the trigger on a Stihl MS-271. 18" bar

3266b57f0add72475a05d0e970fb8b2e.jpg

f71772b9f72519727199f4dcdc19cdd4.jpg

I'm a chain saw noob so I read through the entire manual and watched some YouTube videos. Went outside to give it a go and I can't get the damn thing started for the life of me. Plenty of gas. Bar oil is fine. I put the choke all the way down and pull until my tongue is hanging out. Even tried to put it in the second choke level just below the run level and it won't start for nothing. I have no idea what I'm doing wrong but I'm frustrated and not impressed at all.

Any help would be appreciated. I guess I'll take it back to the shop.

Also, if I ever do get it running, do y'all recommend the chaps and steel toe boots and hearing protection and full helmet, etc.? All I have right now is eye protection but I can always go pick up the rest.

Thanks

Reactions: Bigg_Redd