late Winter pellet Sales

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

smalltown

Minister of Fire
Oct 1, 2008
Western Maine
I'm still burning my way through my Maine Choice pellets and although it's my first year I'd say they are a descent pellet. I'm starting to see pellet prices on local signs and it appears they are slowly dropping. Possibly companies are wanting to be sure they don't take up space until next fall? Late last fall when I called and inquired at my local TSC I was told how many tons they had in trailer truck(s), and when I arrived days later everything was outside in the yard. I imagined the pellets were in good shape and have had no issues. Occasionally I drive buy the same TSC and although I can't be sure it the same shipment they have pellets stored outside in the same spot. I wonder about them and all the other places that have been advertising since last fall and their pellets are just sitting there out in the open with just the plastic wrap covering the pallet of pellets. If I recall correctly the Maine Choice had a solid cover over the top and sides, but some pellets I see at other business appear to just be wrapped in a clear plastic appearing more to hold the pallet contents together than keep water out.