Less expensive Rear-Venting woodstove Manufacturers?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

mikesmoff

Sep 12, 2008
I am moving into a house that has the fireplace converted to woodstove use with chimney pipe that comes out of a 90 degree elbow in the rear of the fireplace, so the chimney comes straight out horizontally to the front.

Previous occupant had some form of woodstove hooked up(-and left me all their old creosote!), allegedly with the rear of the box resting partially in the fireplace and on the level stone surface in front of the fireplace (I'm a newb, so I don't know what it is called) and with the front legs supporting the rest of the weight-legs on tiled fireproof floor section.

It seems I need a rear-vent woodstove to utilize this particular setup, putting in another elbow to fit a top vent would make that two 90s in one chimney and that seems undesirable from what I have learned researching wood stoves, in addition to the fact that a top vent would require the stove to be located further away from the hearth itself, reducing available space in the room.

I am aware of the rear ventability for Vermont Castings and their Dutch West line, and some Jotuls.

Brand new these items are beyond the current price range that I can afford.

Can someone tell me if there are any other, less expensive rear-venting woodstoves/woodstove manufacturers out there?

Thank you immensely for your help!

I was under the impression that inserts are not as efficient and require a blower fan to operate- no good if power out.