Lesson in seasoning...

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

CowboyAndy

Feb 29, 2008
Chateaugay, NY
Well, I guess I am still learning! This being our first year burning has been interesting to say the least.

I have learned that:

even though it can have some good size cracks/checks, it can still be wet.

even though it doesn't have any noticable check/cracks, it can still be dry.

Seriously, I have some stuff that has been in direct sun/wind for a while, great color and checking and sizzled for a good 25 min. but I burned some stuff that has no visable cracks and lit instantly and burned awesome!

I don't think I'll ever understand this stuff!

Locust will not check.
Very small splits of most wood will be dry if ends are checked.
Big splits can still be wet in the center if the ends are checked.
You can't depend on checks!
You can depend on sounds. Should sound like baseball bats hit together when dry.

CowboyAndy said:
Well, I guess I am still learning! This being our first year burning has been interesting to say the least.

I have learned that:

Seriously, I have some stuff that has been in direct sun/wind for a while, great color and checking and sizzled for a good 25 min. but I burned some stuff that has no visable cracks and lit instantly and burned awesome!

"I don’t think I’ll ever understand this stuff! I think you already know now, going into next year you will have more time to prepare that will make all the difference!