Loading N-S rather than E-W

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Swamp Fox

Jan 12, 2006
I've been burning wood for over 20 years. I am constantly learning more and more from this forum. Based upon reading posts regarding loading N-S vs E-W, I am now attempting my very first N-S burn (which is contrary to what the stove manual says to do). It is too early to really tell if there is much of a difference, but I'm not sure I'm that impressed with it ATT. It does appear that the wood burns more quickly in the N-S direction than E-W in this stove. BTW, other than being able to load longer pieces, why would a manufacturer stipulate loading E-W? Is it possible the performance of the stove is affected by the direction of the wood?

I think it has alot to do with how the air hits the load. I get longer burns out of E/W because the air goes across the splits. Now that we are in winter mode I'm loading almost all N/S to allow air to run down the length of the splits.

I'd rather have the clap than a stove that only burned EW. When we went looking for a new stove a few years ago I told the sales folks right away that we're NOT interested in an EW stove even if it were free.

My previous quad insert allowed NS, while the current one does not.
I really liked NS.

savageactor7 said:
I'd rather have the clap than a stove that only burned EW.

LMAO!!!!! I agree, but never in put it in that perspective.

Swamp Fox said:
I am now attempting my very first N-S burn (which is contrary to what the stove manual says to do)

You saw that in a BK manual?

SolarAndWood said:
Swamp Fox said: