1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

locke stove co. ( warm morning )

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by JOELDJOHNSON, Dec 6, 2011.

  1. JOELDJOHNSON

    JOELDJOHNSON New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Loc:
    CENTRAL MINNESOTA
    GOOD DAY ALL, I HAVE A QUICK QUESTION THAT I HOPE SOME ONE OUT THERE CAN HELP ME WITH.
    I HAVE A WARM MORNING MODEL 701A WOOD STOVE IN MY GARAGE AND IT SEEMS TO MYSTERIOUSLY EMIT A SMOKE SMELL FROM THE HINGE SIDE OF THE DOOR, I THINK IT IS SOME HOW COMING FROM THE TOP OF THE DOOR GASKET.
    I REPLACED THE DOOR GASKET LAST WEEK WITH A 5/8" ROPE GASKET AND IT SEEMS TO SEAL FINE, I GUESS I JUST DONT UNDERSTAND HOW A SMOKE SMELL CAN COME FROM A LEAK IN THE FIRE BOX OR DOOR, ONE WOULD THINK THAT A LEAK IN THE FIREBOX WOULD PULL AIR INTO THE FIRE BOX AND NOT LET SMOKE OUT. ANY IDEAS.
    I AM CERTAIN IT IS NOT COMING FROM THE CHIMNEY, BUT IS COMING FROM SOME WHERE IN THE THE DOOR AND IT RISES OUT THE TOP OF THE GRATE ON TOP.
    DOES IT REQUIRE A DIFFERENT TYPE OF GASKET?


    HELP PLEASE,
    JOEL

    Attached Files:

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. rhetta

    rhetta New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Loc:
    no. mn.
    We had a Warm Morning wood stove in our work shop at one point and experienced the same problem, eventually we decided that dust and wood particles were finding their way through the top heat vents and ending up on the top of the fire box. Does that sound like a plausible cause to your problem?
  3. Todd

    Todd Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    9,226
    Loc:
    Lake Wissota
    Your probably right about the door leaking, I've seen it before. If the gasket isn't working you may need to adjust the hinges so it has a tighter seal. I don't know if your stove has adjustable hinges but some people just lightly tap on the hinge with a hammer. But before you do that check the seal with the dollar bill test.
  4. JOELDJOHNSON

    JOELDJOHNSON New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Loc:
    CENTRAL MINNESOTA
    NOPE, IT IS TOO STRONG AND TOO CONSTANT FOR THAT I THINK
  5. JOELDJOHNSON

    JOELDJOHNSON New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Loc:
    CENTRAL MINNESOTA
    NO THIS DOES NOT HAVE ADJUSTABLE HINGES, and i am too scared to tap the hinges ( it is cast iron ) so i need to find a gasket solution
  6. Todd

    Todd Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    9,226
    Loc:
    Lake Wissota
    When you replaced the gasket did you stretch it at all? New gaskets should be laid in the groove as is. Maybe you can bunch it up a little more on the hinge side to give it a little more seal.
  7. JOELDJOHNSON

    JOELDJOHNSON New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Loc:
    CENTRAL MINNESOTA
    no just the opposite, i tried to lay it as flat and as wide as i could ( pushing it together) i also put a minimal amount of gooey stuff behind the gasket, just in case i wanted to " fluff it up )
    this was my send attempt this season, i just thought i put the first one on poorly , but now i am fairly sure i did a adequete job.
    it is interesting you say bunch it up, as it seems pretty darn tight on the hinge side and is a effort to get it to latch, i wouldnt say it it is hard to close but it does take little effort to close and latch
  8. firefighterjake

    firefighterjake Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    14,865
    Loc:
    Unity/Bangor, Maine
    No answer for you Joel . . . but I did want to say welcome to the forum and thank you for turning off the CAP LOCK -- it's hard to read threads when everything is in caps and in the internet speal all capital letters = shouting (i.e. Do NOT burn wet wood or I AM SO HAPPY!!!)
  9. Stephen in SoKY

    Stephen in SoKY Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Messages:
    333
    Loc:
    Southern Kentucky
    I've worked on and used several circulators and they've almost all used 3/4" rope gasket. Ace, TSC etc. never seem to carry 3/4" but I bought some last week at Rural King in stock. Most of the chimney/stove internet stores will have it by the foot, a good shop locally may have it in stock. I suspect you need to go with 3/4" to solve your issue.

    ETA: That's a great looking stove. I grew up with a 783, same stove with shaker grates for coal. Amazingly efficient for their time and not too shabby even today.
  10. JOELDJOHNSON

    JOELDJOHNSON New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Loc:
    CENTRAL MINNESOTA
    THANKS FOR THE INPUT, I WILL HAVE ANOTHER LOOK AT IT THIS WEEKEND AND HOPE FULLY FIND THE LEAK
  11. JOELDJOHNSON

    JOELDJOHNSON New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Loc:
    CENTRAL MINNESOTA
    IT SURE WOULD BE NICE TO FIND A PARTS LIST FOR THIS STOVE
  12. bluedogz

    bluedogz Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,181
    Loc:
    NE Maryland
  13. firefighterjake

    firefighterjake Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    14,865
    Loc:
    Unity/Bangor, Maine
    . . . and the all caps are back. ;)
  14. NH_Wood

    NH_Wood Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,602
    Loc:
    southern NH
    Oh, he's just EXCITED! CHEERS!
  15. singingxxbeauty3

    singingxxbeauty3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    We had a locke stove model 701a in our garage when we moved into our house. I would like to install this in our house but i cannot find any installation specifications online. does anyone know a specific website or phone number i should call to get this information?

Share This Page