Locust Ready to Burn?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

chang

Nov 4, 2010
Maryland
Hey, quick question, I am new to wood burning and had a Quadra-Fire insert installed in October, I had cord of Oak delived from a supplier who said it was seasoned (yea right!!!) Now I have a cheap meter from Harbor Freight and Oak is 32% on a frsh split. My brother has been nice enoiugh to give me some great wood but I cant take any more. I decided to take my wood supply into my own hands and bought a new chainsaw, I was hunting for wood and found a standing dead locust the bark was almost gone which I downed and split and stacked, at least a half cord. I tested several fresh splits and as getting 16 to 18%, Can I burn this now even if it has only been split and stacked today? I know the meter is probably not the best, but much better than the oak I have. what do you think?

Sounds good, give it a try. It's dense wood so does not start as easily as some other woods but burns hot and coals well.

I try to burn Black Locust as often as I can cut it, great burning wood leaves a great bed of coals and burns hot. Very dense hardwood great qualitys for the stove sounds like its dry enough just try it out I suggest you mix it due to the fact its hard to get going. If you have some ash or with some of your brothers wood!! Good luck

re Edit: Ok, I'm totally baffling myself this morning!