Log loads

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

JoeB

Feb 28, 2010
Western NY
I am new to wood stoves. We moved into a new house this year and it has a Glacier Bay wood burning insert with a huge fire box. I love it and it heats the whole house.

As I prepare for next year my question is whether its cheaper to order a load of logs to cut myself, or buy pre-split? I can get a face cord split for $65 but I'm not sure how much the logs are or how many logs make a face cord.

Can I ask for different type logs to get a good mix or would the log guy think I was being too picky? Any advice for a newbee

Welcome to the Forum Joe B!