Looking for advice about stacking wood

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

EPS

Burning Hunk
Jun 5, 2015
NH
I've posted on this forum from time to time. This is my second year burning wood and I am still a novice. I realize that by not cutting, splitting and stacking all year round I am limiting my potential wood collection, but I have already started the process here in February (last year I didn't really get going until May).

I have collected downed branches and trees from around my two wooded acres and I have even used Craigslist to track down some free wood and bring it back to my house. Most recently I obtained a few pallets so that I can start making organized wood stacks.

My question is where, specifically, I should stack my wood? Last year I made a whole "wood processing area" in the grove of giant pine trees and stacked all the wood between the tree trunks. That worked alright and looked good, too. I may go ahead and do this again this summer, but I look to process at least twice as much wood this year and want to put the pallet wood piles somewhere that they will season nicely but also look okay (or out of sight). I have attached a diagram of my property and will gladly accept any suggestions as to where to place my pile. (north is the top of the image). Thanks!

Attachments

• HouseDiagram.jpg
    HouseDiagram.jpg
    45.4 KB · Views: 224