Looking for guidance

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

hhaz

Feb 20, 2024
RI
Hello All,

I am new to the woodstove world. I purchased a home that previously had a small jotul. I replaced the jotul with a Lopi Liberty as the jotul had mortar falling out and I wanted something that could hold larger splits and had a longer burn time. The unit was installed by a professional. Since the install I have been having issues with smoke rolling back into the house, whether it be on start up or refueling. Also, a couple times, smoke escaping through flue joints in the house. I since have had an extension put on the flue (double wall) and an air kit put in. I am still having a little bit of smoke come in the house when refueling, though not as much and not as often as it had been previously, and nothing leaking through the joints,

My concern now is that at the end of a burn, I still notice a slight smell of smoke and often my eyes feel a little irritated. I am the only one in the house that seems to notice it though. I only smell it at the end of a burn when there are no longer flames. While the fire is going, I do not have this issue. I do need to extend the flue once again as the unit needs a minimum of 15 feet of flue and I only have about 13 feet. Also, I do have negative air pressure in the home as I have radon reduction system in the basement that has 6 suction points ( I know, that's a lot! I have the worst soil to move air through).